Research Grants

Research Grants

The leading funder of multiple myeloma research

As the leading funder of multiple myeloma research, the MMRF has supported more than 350 research grants at over 135 institutions worldwide. The MMRF supports innovative research efforts in the most promising areas of multiple myeloma research through several grant-making programs. We remain committed to supporting researchers who have more than five years experience in blood cancer research as well as attracting younger scientists to enter the myeloma research field to build the next generation of scientific leaders.

Grant Opportunities:

Significant advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology and molecular biology involved in multiple myeloma have identified numerous putative molecular targets for therapeutic intervention. The MMRF welcomes proposals on any and all multiple myeloma related topics to the traditional Research Grant Award programs. Applications are accepted from non-profit institutions and universities in the United States and internationally. Program guidelines and applications are available approximately 6-8 weeks prior to the submission deadline.

Senior Research Awards:

For established investigators who hold a Ph.D., M.D. or equivalent degree who have documented experience in blood cancer research or in research areas that are pertinent to multiple myeloma. The goal of this initiative is to accelerate the development of therapeutic approaches for myeloma and may include proposals in basic science, validation, or clinical research. Applicants may request up to $100,000 per year for 2 years, or $200,000 total. Application deadline: March 17, 2015 at 5PM EST 2015

Senior Research Award Program Guidelines.

Research Fellow Awards:

For researchers who hold a Ph.D., M.D. or equivalent degree at the post-doctorate, clinical fellow or assistant professor levels who are beginning studies in the multiple myeloma field under the supervision of a research mentor or sponsor. Applicants may request up to $75,000 for one year. Application deadline: April 21, 2015 at 5PM EST

2015 Research Fellows applicant guidelines.

List of 2014 MMRF Grant Awardees:

The MMRF Senior Awards fund cutting-edge basic science and pre-clinical research focused on accelerating the development of novel treatments.

The 2014 Senior Awards recipients are:

  • Qing Yi, The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
  • Kari Hemminki, German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany
  • David Toczyski, University of California- San Francisco (UCSF)
  • Stephen Nutt, The Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Australia
  • Mike Chapman, The University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

The MMRF Research Fellow Award supports innovative research conducted by talented young investigators working under the supervision of a senior research mentor. The 2014 Research Fellow Award recipients are:

  • Kim Chan Chung, University Health Network, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Jens Lohr, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • John Simmons, National Cancer Institute
  • Eric Smith, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
  • Mohit Verma, The Jackson Laboratory