Choose a Year - 2010 Grant Recipients

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004



2010 Validation of Novel Multiple Myeloma Targets Leveraging Existing Genomic Data

Jonathan Keats, PhD

Phoenix, AZ
“Consequences of KDM6A/UTX Loss in Multiple Myeloma”

Jonathan Licht, MD
Northwestern University

Chicago, Illinois
“Elucidation of Therapeutic Targets in MMSET-Associated Myeloma”


2010 Senior Research Award

Robert Orlowski, PhD, MD
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
“Mechanisms of Lenalidomide Resistance”

Anton Martens, PhD
University Medical Center Utrecht
Utrecht, The Netherlands
“The Humanized Multiple Myeloma Mouse Model”

James Bradner, MD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA
“Targeting Autophagy in Multiple Myeloma”

Albert Koong, PhD, MD
Stanford University
Stanford, CA
“Targeting the Unfolded Protein Response for Cancer Therapy”

Jetze Tepe, PhD
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
“Development of Allosteric Proteasome Inhibitors for the Treatment of MM”

Steven Grant, MD
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA
“HDAC Inhibitors and BH3 Mimetics in Resistant/Refractory Multiple Myeloma”

Sherie Morrison, PhD
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
“Targeting Type 1 IFN and TRAIL to MM Using Anti-CD138 Fusion Proteins”

Fenghuang Zhan, PhD, MD
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
“Novel Ttreatment Approaches to Target the RARa2 Positive Myeloma Cell”

Roberto Bellucci, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA
“Induction of Myeloma Cell Susceptibility to NK Ccells”

Paul Galardy, MD
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Rochester, MN
“Exploring the Role of UCH-L1 in the Pathogenesis of Myeloma”

Simone Cenci, MD
Fondazione Centro San Raffaele del Monte Tabor
Milano, Italy
“An Integrated Study of Proteostasis Against Multiple Myeloma”

Alexei Kisselev, PhD
Dartmouth Medical School, Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Lebanon, NH
“Molecular Mechanisms of Intrinsic Resistance of Myeloma Cells to Bortezomib”

Drorit Neumann, PhD
Tel Aviv University
Tel Aviv, Israel
“Erythropoietin as an Anti-Multiple Myeloma Immunomodulating Agent”


2010 Research Fellow Award

Charitha Madiraju, PhD
Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute

La Jolla, CA
“Targeting UBC13 for Multiple Myeloma Treatment”

Brian McCarthy, PhD
Medical College of Georgia Research Institute, Inc

Augusta, GA
“The NFKB2-IL10 Pathway in Multiple Myeloma Pathogenesis”

Ernesta Paola Neri, MD
The University of Calgary

Calgary, Canada
“PARP Inhibitor as Novel Therapeutic Approach in Multiple Myeloma”

Triona Ni Chonghaile, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Boston, MA
“Measuring the Apoptotic Preset as a Predictor of Chemosensitivity”

Victor Peperzak, PhD
The Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Parkville, Australia
“The Role of Survival Proteins in Multiple Myeloma Development”

Loredana Santo, MD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Boston, MA
“A Novel Aurora Kinase Inhibitor, AT9283, and Lenalidomide in MM”

Yuhuan Zheng, PhD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Houston, TX
“Macrophages Protect Myeloma Cells from Chemotherapy Drug-Induced Apoptosis”


2010 Role of Microenvironment in the Development and Progression of Myeloma

Kelvin Lee, MD
Institution Health Research, Inc., Roswell Park Cancer Institute Division
Buffalo, NY
“Understanding the Myeloid Microenvironment in Multiple Myeloma”

Yulia Nefedova, MD, PhD
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
Tampa, FL
“Regulation of Multiple Myeloma by Myeloid Cells”

Hongjiao Ouyang, PhD
The VA Pittsburgh Healthcare System
Pittsburgh, PA
“The Role of XBP1s in Multiple Myeloma Microenvironment”

Yai-Wei Qiang, MD, PhD
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR
“Identification of Molecular Targets in Myeloma Microenvironments”

Diagnostic Investment Award (DIA)

William Matsui, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
“Quantification of Circulating Tumor Specific DNA in Multiple Myeloma”

Antonio Palumbo, MD
Ospedale Molinette
Torino, Italy
“Minimal Residual Disease to Better Characterize Multiple Myeloma Response and Detect Early Relapse”


2010 Validation of Novel Combinations and Novel Compounds Award

Lori Hazlehurst, PhD
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute

Tampa, FL
“Role of Calcium in Mediating c-HYD1 and HYD1 Induced Cell Death in MM”

Anastasios Karadimitris, MD, PhD
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine

London, United Kingdom
“Glycosphingolipid Inhibitors in the Treatment of Multiple Myeloma”

Constantine Mitsiades, MD, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Boston, MA
“Development of Combination Regimens Based on Histone Deacetylase Inhibitors”

Andrew Spencer, DM, FRACP, FRCPA
Monash University

Clayton, Australia
“Targeted Inhibition of JAK-STAT Signalling to Modify MM Drug Resistance”